January is 'Move Over Month'
January is Move Over month and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles urges all motorists to move over for emergency and service vehicles stopped along the roadway.
Preliminarily in 2018, there were 231 crashes and almost 17,000 citations issued for motorists failing to move over. Highway Safety and the Florida Highway Patrol are partnering with the Florida Department of Transportation, Florida Police Chiefs Association, Florida Sheriffs Association and AAA-The Auto Club Group to ensure all law enforcement, first-responders, service and utility workers and Road Rangers Arrive Alive in 2019.
Florida law requires you to Move Over a lane — when you can safely do so — for stopped law enforcement, emergency, sanitation, utility service vehicles and tow trucks or wreckers.
- If you can’t move over — or when on a two-lane road — slow to a speed that is 20 mph less than the posted speed limit.
- Slow down to 5 mph when the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less.